Staff Development


​​​Establishe​​d: 1986


The purpose of the Staff Development Committee is to plan and coordinate the staff development activities for faculty and staff.  The committee will also work in collaboration with the College Technology Committee in planning and funding activities. The Staff Development Committee is charged with the following responsibilities:

    • Assess the needs of the college as they relate to staff development and improvement of instruction.
    • Develop programs and strategies to meet these needs.
    • Annually evaluate the staff development program and funding guidelines.
    • Examine and approve or deny requests for staff development funding.
    • Develop, update and maintain policies to promote staff development.
    • Plan and coordinate Professional Development Day activities subject to the requirements of the Faculty Association Collective Bargaining Agreement and approval of the Academic Senate.  (See FA Contract, Sections 11.6, 7, 8, 9 & 10).  A Professional Improvement Committee shall consist of three (3) representatives of the Academic Senate, one (1) administrator, and one (1) representative of the Faculty Association.

Recommendations Forwarded to

College Council or Acade​mic Senate, as appropriate


Administration: - 2
Classified: – 3
Faculty: - 8 (one faculty from each division as determined by the Academic Senate):

    • Business & Workforce Development
    • Counseling & Matriculation
    • Language Arts
    • Library and Learning Resources
    • Math, Science, & Engineering
    • Nursing & Allied Health
    • Social Science, Humanities, Arts & P.E.
    • At-Large (elected by the Academic Senate)


Faculty reassigne​d time for a two-year term


All members are​ elected/appointed for one year, renewable by appropriate constituent group.


1st and 3rd Thursd​ay of each month, 2:00-3:30 pm


Open to any int​erested member of the college community


2012-​​2013 Membership






Shashi Naidu

Business/Workforce: Tina Shaner

Savander Parker

not applicable


Counseling: Vacant


Language Arts: Helen Han

Library/LR: Nasreen Rahim, Chair

MSE:  Abdie Tabrizi

Nursing: Barbara Tisdale

SSHAPE: Ambica Gill

At Large: 




EVC Supporting Page
Evergreen Valley College