Evergreen Valley College



Academic Senate Meeting Agenda

Date: September 17, 2024 Location: Mishra Conference Room

Time: 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

President: Henry Estrada (Spring 2026)

Vice President: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026)

Treasurer: Vacant

Immediate Past President: Garry Johnson

Division Senators:

Business & Workforce Dev: Juan Gil (Spring 2026)

- Counseling Services: Laura Garcia (Spring 2025)
- Library & Learning Services: Tejal Naik (Spring 2026)
- Language Arts: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026) / 1 vacancy (Spring 2025)
- Math, Science, & Engineering: Melissa Hornstein (Spring 2026) / Michael Masuda (Spring 2025)
- Nursing & Allied Health: Nancy Lin (Spring 2026)
- Social Science, Humanities, Arts & PE: Eric Narveson (Spring 2025) / Dave Hendricks (Spring 2026)
- At-Large Faculty: Charlie Khan-Lomax (Spring 2025) / Grace Estrada (Spring 2026)
- Associate Faculty: Binh Vo (Spring 2025) / Rahmon Pashtunyar (Spring 2026), 1 vacancy

I. Call to Order

II. Adoption of Agenda

III. Public Comments (Limited to 3 minutes per person/ 5 minutes per item)

This portion of the meeting is reserved for items not on the agenda. Law does not permit action or extended discussion of items not on the agenda except under special circumstances. If Senate action is required, it can be placed on the agenda for the next meeting.

IV. Committee Chair Reports (3 minutes per report as needed)

- 1) All College Curriculum: Grace Estrada
- 2) Student Learning Outcomes: Rahmon Pashtunyar
- 3) Institutional Effectiveness: Fahmida Fakhruddin
- 4) Professional Development: Binh Vo
- 5) AB928: Laura Garcia
- 6) **Distance Education (DE):** Tejal Naik
- 7) **Campus Technology:** Steven Mentor
- 8) College Budget: Eric Narveson
- 9) College Safety and Facilities: Vince Cabada
- 10) **Student Equity:** Victor Garza
- 11) District Academic Senate: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin
- 12) District Budget: Henry Estrada
- 13) District Council: Henry Estrada
- 14) College Council: Henry Estrada

V. Academic Senate President's Report

VI. Academic Senate Vice President's Report

VII. Consent Items

- A) TRC Mera Horne (ENGR) Henry Estrada (Faculty) and Celso Batalha (Admin); Mentor: Jennifer Kurushima (2024-2025)
- B) Faculty Hiring Prioritization Committee: Hanh Deng (Counseling), Tejal Naik (Library/DE), Rich Longacre (LA)
- C) Graduation Committee: Will Thai (Counseling), Michael Ghebreab (MSE)
- D) Academic Senate: Sravani Banerjee (LA)
- E) Student Equity Achievement Committee: Scott Wilson (LA), Sithparran Vanniasegaram (MSE)
- F) Budget Committee: Lisa Hays (MSE), Henry Estrada (At-large)
- G) All College Curriculum Committee: Laimi Cong-Huyen (MSE)
- H) Institutional Effectiveness Committee: Jack Ho (MSE)
- I) Distance Education Committee: Michael Ghebreab (MSE)
- J) AFT 6157: Al Gonzalez (MSE)
- K) Student Learning Outcomes Committee: Sylvia Anderson (MSE)
- L) Campus Technology Committee: Charles Chau (MSE), Tejal Naik (MSE-Alternate), Manny Kang (MSE-Alternate)
- M) Professional Development Committee: Bob Lombard (MSE)
- N) College Safety and Facilities Committee: Bryan Pham (MSE), Adam Green (MSE-Alternate), Manny Kang (MSE-Alternate)

VIII. Action Items

- A) EVC Academic Senate Treasurer: David Hendricks
- B) Professional Recognition Committee: Vote for 3 members: Eric Narveson (SSHAPE), Michael Masuda (MSE), Jose de Jesus Sanchez (Counseling), Tram Pham (Counseling)
- C) At-large Associate Senate Election Committee

IX. Discussion Items (limited to 3 minutes per item)

- A) SJECCD LGBTQ+
- B) AB 1111 Faculty Lead

X. Information Items

- A) Teaching and learning with AI Henry Estrada
- B) Curriculum changes Delaying approval date Laura Garcia
- C) Special Assignments Henry Estrada

XI. Announcements & Recognitions

- Welcome to new EVC President, Dr. Vinicio Lopez Henry Estrada
- Next Academic Senate meeting: Oct 1, 2024

XII. Adjournment