Evergreen Valley College



Academic Senate Meeting Agenda

Date: February 18, 2025 Time: 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Location: Mishra Conference Room

President: Henry Estrada (Spring 2026)
Vice President: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026)
Treasurer: David Hendricks (Spring 2026)
Immediate Past President: Garry Johnson

Division Senators:

- Business & Workforce Dev: Juan Gil (Spring 2026)
- Counseling Services: Laura Garcia (Spring 2025)
- Library & Learning Services: Tejal Naik (Spring 2026)
- Language Arts: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026) / Sravani Banerjee (Spring 2025)
- Math, Science, & Engineering: Melissa Hornstein (Spring 2026) / Michael Masuda (Spring 2025)
- Nursing & Allied Health: Nancy Lin (Spring 2026)
- Social Science, Humanities, Arts & PE: Eric Narveson (Spring 2025) / Dave Hendricks (Spring 2026)
- At-Large Faculty: Charlie Kahn-Lomax (Spring 2025) / Grace Estrada (Spring 2026)
- Associate Faculty: Binh Vo (Spring 2025) / Rahmon Pashtunyar (Spring 2026), Maria Esperanza Outeirino-Feijoo (Spring 2026)
- I. Call to Order
- II. Adoption of Agenda
- III. Approval of Minutes February 4, 2025

IV. Public Comments (Limited to 3 minutes per person/ 5 minutes per item)

This portion of the meeting is reserved for items not on the agenda. Law does not permit action or extended discussion of items not on the agenda except under special circumstances. If Senate action is required, it can be placed on the agenda for the next meeting.

V. Committee Chair Reports (3 minutes per report as needed)

- 1) All College Curriculum: Grace Estrada
- 2) Student Learning Outcomes: Rahmon Pashtunyar
- 3) Institutional Effectiveness: Fahmida Fakhruddin
- 4) Professional Development: Binh Vo
- 5) **AB 928:** Laura Garcia
- 6) AB 1111: Grace Estrada
- 7) Distance Education (DE): Tejal Naik
- 8) Campus Technology: Steven Mentor
- 9) College Budget: Eric Narveson
- 10) College Safety and Facilities: Vince Cabada
- 11) Student Equity: Victor Garza
- 12) District Academic Senate: David Hendricks

- 13) District Budget: Eric Narveson/Henry Estrada
- 14) District Council: Henry Estrada
- 15) College Council: Henry Estrada/Kelly Nguyen-Jardin

VI. Academic Senate President's Report

VII. Academic Senate Vice President's Report

VIII. Consent Items

- A) Professional Development Committee John Stratton (Nursing & Allied Health)
- B) Spring 2025 Tenured Faculty Evaluations from the Business & Workforce Division
 - a. Melody Barta Evaluator: Bob Brown
 - b. Bob Brown Evaluator: Melody Barta
 - c. RJ Ruppenthal Evaluator: Mike Risso
 - d. Mike Risso Evaluator: RJ Ruppenthal

IX. Action Items

- A) Screening Committee Program Coordinator, Umoja-AFFIRM Vote for 1
- B) Screening Committee English Faculty Vote for 3
- C) Sub-Professional Development Committee Members Alternate Plans

X. Discussion Items (limited to 3 minutes per item)

XI. Information Items

A) Waitlist and Unit Caps – Balamurali (Bala) Kappagantula, Director of Enterprise Application Services, ITSS

XII. Announcements & Recognitions

Next Academic Senate meeting: March 4, 2025

XIII. Adjournment