Evergreen Valley College



Academic Senate Meeting Agenda



Date: May 20, 2025 Time: 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Location: Mishra Conference Room

President: Henry Estrada (Spring 2026)
Vice President: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026)
Treasurer: David Hendricks (Spring 2026)
Immediate Past President: Garry Johnson

Division Senators:

- Business & Workforce Dev: Juan Gil (Spring 2026)
- Counseling Services: Laura Garcia (Spring 2025)
- Library & Learning Services: Judith Girardi (Spring 2026)
- Language Arts: Kelly Nguyen-Jardin (Spring 2026) / Sravani Banerjee (Spring 2025)
- STEM: Melissa Hornstein (Spring 2026) / Michael Masuda (Spring 2025)
- Nursing & Allied Health: Nancy Lin (Spring 2026)
- Social Science, Humanities, Arts & PE: Eric Narveson (Spring 2027) / Dave Hendricks (Spring 2026)
- At-Large Faculty: Charlie Kahn-Lomax (Spring 2025) / Grace Estrada (Spring 2026)
- Associate Faculty: Binh Vo (Spring 2025) / Rahmon Pashtunyar (Spring 2026), Maria Esperanza Outeirino-Feijoo (Spring 2026)
- I. Call to Order
- II. Adoption of Agenda
- III. Approval of Minutes May 6, 2025

IV. Public Comments (Limited to 3 minutes per person/ 5 minutes per item)

This portion of the meeting is reserved for items not on the agenda. Law does not permit action or extended discussion of items not on the agenda except under special circumstances. If Senate action is required, it can be placed on the agenda for the next meeting.

V. Committee Chair Reports (3 minutes per report as needed)

- 1) All College Curriculum: Grace Estrada
- 2) Student Learning Outcomes: Rahmon Pashtunyar
- 3) Institutional Effectiveness: Fahmida Fakhruddin
- 4) Professional Development: Binh Vo
- 5) AB 928: Laura Garcia
- 6) AB 1111: Grace Estrada
- 7) Distance Education (DE): Tejal Naik
- 8) Campus Technology: Steven Mentor
- 9) College Budget: Eric Narveson
- 10) College Safety and Facilities: Vince Cabada
- 11) Student Equity: Victor Garza
- 12) District Academic Senate: David Hendricks
- 13) District Budget: Eric Narveson / Henry Estrada

- 14) District Council: Henry Estrada
- 15) **College Council:** Henry Estrada
- 16) Credit for Prior Learning (CPL): Juan Gill

VI. Academic Senate President's Report

VII. Academic Senate Vice President's Report

VIII. Consent Items

- A. Membership confirmation Eric Narveson (Spring 2027) and Alessandro Bailetti Saez STEM (Spring 2027)
- B. Mike Masuda stepping down

IX. Action Items

- A. Al Policy Henry Estrada
- B. DE Handbook Tejal Naik
- C. Screening Committee DSP Program Assistant
- D. Summer Senate Membership 5 required to meet as needed

X. Discussion Items (limited to 3 minutes per item)

- A. Request to increase reassigned time to 40% for the Women's and Gender Studies Coordinator position Sravani Banerjee
- B. Dual Enrollment collegial consultation Henry Estrada
- C. Direction of PDD, offsite requests, online vs in-person Henry Estrada
- D. Resolutions for Steven Mentor Sravani Banerjee and Eric Narveson and Arturo Villarreal Eric Narveson
- E. Feedback on Senate Leadership; ways to improve, what is working well.

XI. Information Items

- A. Cal LAW Pathways Shaneel Pratap
- B. ZTC Grants
- C. Potential changes in the semester typically offered list Grace Estrada
- D. Process for courses out of compliance Grace Estrada

XII. Announcements & Recognitions

- Academic Senate Dues/ Scholarship Donation Henry Estrada
- Next Academic Senate meeting: Tuesday, September 2, 2025 first meeting of Fall 2025

XIII. Adjournment